Friday, 24 June 2022

Some answers about me!

 I popped along and visited some blogs, new to me this week.. and was asked by one lady who I was, so here's some facts...

I'm now classed as old, being 79 years and I won't lie and say I don't feel my age physically, because some days I jolly well do! I have arthritis but take pain killers so keep it under control. Breaking my arm which hasn't healed properly 7 years ago, changed my life completely and added to my difficulties.  And I have this annoying over active bladder, so I know all the nicer toilets to go to, when we're out.

I live a very happily with my lovely husband to whom I have been married for 16 years in July. We are Christians and share our daily Bible readings.

I met him through the internet, it wasn't a dating site, but a pen pal site.. we started writing in 2004 and met up after a year and married a year later.. other pen pals have fallen by the way side, except for a lovely lady in Australia, who I have met and we still write.

We now live in Wales, the town where I was born and have been in this bungalow just one year and a few days. We love it here!

We have 7 children between us, all grown and flown and 6 grand children. They all live a  fair distance from us, so we don't see them that often.

I love gardening and reading, but struggle a bit with the garden these days, but do some gentle weeding and grow most of our plants from seed. I sew, quilt, knit, crochet and still cross stitch some days. 

I am always trying to lose weight, altho' I was never over weight when I was younger. We follow the Slimming World plan and when we keep to it, it works.

I do have regrets about my past life, the main one being I never had a normal childhood. My mother died when I was two, and my father remarried, so I never really knew him. I was brought up by my Victorian maternal grand parents and my mothers' two unmarried sisters, who lived with us. I was often pushed from pillar to post, so I longed for a normal family. What saved  me was,  when I was 12, one of my aunts paid for me to go to a private school as a weekly boarder and I loved it!

When I left school with my School Certificate with passes in 11 subjects I trained as a SRN.. But after I was first married and with 4 children this didn't fit in with our life, so age 39 I went to a College affiliated with the London University and got a degree in Education and spent the next 24 years teaching, which I loved.  I eventually retired when I was 64 and married Dh.

I think the happiest days of my younger life was when my children were little, I loved being a mother and made them clothes and played happy families with them. What are your happiest times?

I can be very emotional and cry easily, especially watching News programmes, so sometimes avoid them.

But all in all I am very satisfied with my life, especially living where we are now and how we live. What about you, are you happy with your life?

We pop out for walks and coffees, love our dog Nell and generally do as we please.. some days, shock horror we go out to enjoy the sunshine and walk along the prom, leaving our bed unmade! Have you ever done this?

Here's Nell sun bathing, she's 13 years old now.


So that's me!

Chrisxx

7 comments:

Maggie said...

Nice to know a little more about you Chris. I had to laugh when said about going out and leaving your bed unmade, my husband says that he would know something was the matter if he ever came home and the bed wasn't made, lol.

The Weaver of Grass said...

Here I am back to see you Chris if I appear on your post - blogger seems choosy what he'she saves. I loved reading abouyt your varied life - it is interesting to read about past lives. I Have hadt wo blissful marriages - the first 39 years to a teacher/painter/musician and as I am also a musician we had a very musical/artistic life. Then after two years of widowhood twenty three years to a farmer - blissful again but so different. I shall be 90 in October.

Terra said...

Thank you for visiting my blog, I am glad to meet you. Your dog has a pretty coat. This is a nice post about you, maybe I will be inspired to write one with a bit about me, I am about your age. That must be lovely living in your home town in Wales, I live a short walk from the Pacific Ocean in California.

Eileen said...

Lovely to read about you and your life Chris. I'm not seventy yet but my health problems started two years ago at the start of the pandemic. Getting old is no fun but like you I love living by the sea.

Bless said...

I enjoyed reading about you, Chris. So pleased to meet you! :) I loved that bit about sometimes going out for a walk without first making your bed! :D I'm sorry to read that your mother passed away when you were so young! That must have affected you very much, even if your maternal grandparents and aunts looked after you. Nell looks like a sweetheart.

meandmysmallcorner said...


Thank you for sharing a little more about your life with us Chris. I have one of those 'O' birthdays next year but I'm ok with that. I'm so glad you found such a wonderful man to share your life with and live in a part of the country that is so close to your heart xx

Latane Barton said...

I am new to your site, well, not brand new but new anyhow. And, through this post I loved getting to know you better and just felt I had known you forever. I think we all should make a post like that!